top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharli Elliott

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Updated: Sep 7, 2020

I'm finding that it's easy to get caught up in the routine of going to work all week, coming home exhausted to watch TV or read a book, and then spending the weekends seeing the main sights of Taiwan. But one of the things I was most looking forward to when I finalized my decision to move abroad was getting an apartment and exploring the mundane jaunts of my new neighborhood.


Last weekend, I had the opportunity to do just that. I took the weekend to relax and gave myself the time and permission to wander and see what might be found, without any true destination. And what I found delighted me.



One of my earliest finds was a local elementary school track that I could workout on. Finding my way back from there, I stumbled upon a small temple tucked in next to rows and rows of apartments. I found a local fruit stand, a small park, a breakfast place I want to try and many local shops promising noodles, rice and whatever else sounds good for lunch. I made a split second decision to step into a store and found a massive treasure trove of cheap goods, anything I could want under the sun. (I will definitely be returning when the first paycheck comes in and I get to revamp my apartment). A local bubble tea place. Another ornate temple. When I took the circuitous route back from taking out the garbage, I found an alley painted and decorated with dogs, and at the end of the alley, yet another temple. All places that are within a city block of my apartment.



I also took advantage of Taiwan's Youbike system and rented a bike. I stretched my wandering a little further, hitting a department store for a yoga mat and cruising through a new subsection of the neighborhood. All for $15NT. It was a great reminder that I have so many different ways to explore the city right at my fingertips.


Through all of my wandering, the area where I had been living for two and a half weeks started to feel a little more like home. If you are new to an area, or even if you aren't, I highly recommend setting out on foot for a day of finding the little nooks and crannies of your city. Find a new coffee shop, restaurant, park or artsy alley. No matter what, it will certainly be a beautiful day in the neighborhood.

39 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page